Victron solar controller: Battery settings

Hi everyone,

First post here. We’ve just hit the road! Day 3 in a different country and loving it.

We have a 280W solar panel on the roof, a Victron Energy 100/30 SmartSolar controller and 2x Leoch 130Ah AGM batteries in parallel.

I have the data sheet of the batteries, but not finding it very clear when trying to derive settings for the solar controller. Can anyone with a bit more battery experience have a look and let me know if you can decipher it.

https://www.alpha-batteries.co.uk/media/catalog/product/l/a/lagm-130.pdf

By the way, I’m and electrical engineer by trade, but a totally different discipline within the industry, never touched batteries, so any recommended reads would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Insta: @doginavan

i’ll run this through a friend of mine who knows alot about these things and get back to you

The .pdf seems pretty helpful, where did you get it from?

When I was looking for a battery I had in mind the fact I’d need something pretty detailed. Came across Alpha Batteries who seemed to have more detail than others.

Like many manufactures, especially overseas (china) the charts do not match reality. At average temperatures of 72F. The chart recommends 14.7 volts for Maximum! of 2 hours per day (or is it .2 hours) then 14.4 volts for continuous charge. Then a boost charge 14.1a, that doesn’t make any sense. They lost something in translation.
I would set my controller the the Controllers Setting for AGM batteries, then pray for rain.