Hi, vanlife community! :)

Hi there!

I’m so excited to be a part of this community! I don’t have my van yet, but I will soon. I’ve been doing extensive research about van life for the past 11 months and can’t wait to sell my house and begin my van build. It’s been a long process so far. I want to make sure I do it right. I know you can’t prepare for every contingency, but planning always seems to be a wise thing to do. Anyway…

I’m currently living in Texas with my sweet 12 year old Weimaraner. She’s the best little buddy a girl could ever ask for! I’m so blessed!

Right now I’m working a typical 9 to 5 job – which actually ends up being way more than 40 hours per week (although I only get paid for 40). Every free moment I get I’ve been researching and also systemically preparing my house for sale. My biggest concern at this point is how I will financially sustain myself in my new desired lifestyle. Until that’s more solid, I really can’t move forward with confidence. That’s been my major delay. The goal really is to have a completely mobile job where I can control my schedule and location…but…

I recently received a job offer in the Washington DC/Maryland/Northern Virginia area. The work would remain in that geographic area and require regular commuting within it. This is a great opportunity, however it seems as if vanlife out there may be a bit more challenging than most locations in the midwest/western United States (if you’re planning to mostly boondock). The job would also require me to daily gain entry to numerous high security locations and I’m concerned that driving a Sprinter van through security may get interesting (challenging with all the restrictions) and time-consuming (potential for detailed searching of the vehicle each visit). I’d love to take this job but don’t want to give up on my dream of living in my Sprinter van!